Portal: Prelude Forum

Everything that has an end, has a beginning...

You are not logged in.

#1 10-11-2008 22:00:33

CavaliereOmbra
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 10-11-2008
Website

Portal start instead of Prelude

Hi,

I installed Portal Prelude on my PC. I had no problems, and after restarting Steam I see the expansion on it. So till that moment all seems to be ok. Unfortunately I could not play the game because Portal start instead of Prelude each time I press right mouse button on Prelude and click over "Start game...".
I made something wrong?
Thanks you,


Cav


P.S. I have Source SDK Base installed on my PC.

Last edited by CavaliereOmbra (10-11-2008 23:02:37)


Ottima fra le traduzioni quella che ecciterŕ le stesse passioni nell'anima, e le stesse immagini alla
fantasia con lo stesso effetto dell'originale - Ugo Foscolo [Diario di un traduttore]

Offline

 

#2 10-11-2008 22:55:50

NykO18
Administrator
From: Montréal, QC
Registered: 29-08-2008
Website

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

CavaliereOmbra wrote:

P.S. I have Source SDK Base installed on my PC.

And Portal too ?

Offline

 

#3 10-11-2008 22:56:36

CavaliereOmbra
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 10-11-2008
Website

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

NykO18 wrote:

And Portal too ?

Yes, I have it with Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Epirode One, Half Life 2: Epirode Two and Team Fortress 2 (I own the Orange Box).

Should I even install "Source SDK" and/or "Source SDK Base - Orange Box"?

Last edited by CavaliereOmbra (10-11-2008 23:24:33)


Ottima fra le traduzioni quella che ecciterŕ le stesse passioni nell'anima, e le stesse immagini alla
fantasia con lo stesso effetto dell'originale - Ugo Foscolo [Diario di un traduttore]

Offline

 

#4 11-11-2008 05:11:07

NykO18
Administrator
From: Montréal, QC
Registered: 29-08-2008
Website

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

I don't think so.
That's weird. I don't understand what's going on.

Offline

 

#5 11-11-2008 21:30:41

CavaliereOmbra
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 10-11-2008
Website

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

NykO18 wrote:

I don't think so.
That's weird. I don't understand what's going on.

I solved the problem, but I don't understand what causes it. I simply made a link on desktop right-clicking over "Portal Prelude" into Steam and selecting "Create link into desktop" option. This link is functionally, while the one into Steam redirect me to the original Portal.
Anyway now I can play! big_smile

Last edited by CavaliereOmbra (13-11-2008 23:06:10)


Ottima fra le traduzioni quella che ecciterŕ le stesse passioni nell'anima, e le stesse immagini alla
fantasia con lo stesso effetto dell'originale - Ugo Foscolo [Diario di un traduttore]

Offline

 

#6 13-11-2008 22:46:39

NykO18
Administrator
From: Montréal, QC
Registered: 29-08-2008
Website

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

That's even weirder xD

Offline

 

#7 20-11-2008 22:19:35

EpischerSieg
Member
Registered: 14-10-2008

Re: Portal start instead of Prelude

haha, its a bug withing the steam UI somehow, i guess it made clicking it actually link to the portal HL2.exe but  when it made a link it made the real shortcut to the portal prelude HL2.exe...uninstalling and reinstalling should fix it, but thats a lot of work lol, unless you hate icons on your desktop haha

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB