Portal: Prelude Forum

Everything that has an end, has a beginning...

You are not logged in.

#1 11-10-2008 17:03:11

Jaden
Member
Registered: 11-10-2008

A bug you overlooked or something...

The mod crashes before it's even started. Steam prepares to launch, but just after the disappearence of that window, Windows (XP, Service Pack 2) informs me that there was a problem with hl2.exe, shutting it down. In detail, it says:

AppName: hl2.exe     AppVer: 0.0.0.0     ModName: shaderapidx9.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0     Offset: 00029d16


Before anybody asks (as you seem to do that every time): I own the original games, bought the Orange Box aswell as the CSS - HL2:DM - package. I reinstalled the mod twice, which didn't change anything at all. The files are located in their appropriate folders in SteamApps\portal prelude. I downloaded the mod at moddb.com and I restarted Steam at least three times since I installed it.

So, to put it short: I don't have the slightest clue, why in the world it would do that.

Offline

 

#2 11-10-2008 17:10:27

sg3s
Member
From: THE Netherlands
Registered: 10-10-2008
Website

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

It is possible that you need HL2 (not DM) and/or lost coast (HDR stuff...) for it to work... I don't know what shaderrapidx9.dll does but the name suggests shaders heh, those changed trough out the games.

Offline

 

#3 11-10-2008 17:24:01

Jaden
Member
Registered: 11-10-2008

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

I thought I had covered that with writing it explicitly, but okay, here goes again: I HAVE Half-life 2 (Both the normal game, as well as Deathmatch) in the configuration of the Orange Box, which basically means that it includes all the engine improvements of Lost Coast and Episode 1 + 2. I even installed Lost Coast out of curiosity. I've got everything, the most actual version of Steam and the Valve content. That's why this makes no sense to me at all.

Offline

 

#4 11-10-2008 17:48:24

Alphasoldier
Member
Registered: 10-10-2008

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

Actually, only thing you need to play is Portal, I can know it seeing I only own Portal and can play the game just fine, further, I have no clue either.

EDIT: So seeing you got Orange box, you also have Portal.

Last edited by Alphasoldier (11-10-2008 17:49:13)

Offline

 

#5 11-10-2008 18:11:51

sg3s
Member
From: THE Netherlands
Registered: 10-10-2008
Website

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

uhm.. yeah I missed the orange box part, anyway... here are my suggestions:

Are you sure it's XP SP2 and not XP SP3? If not upgrade to SP3, far fetch but might help and should be better overall...
Update gfx drivers/directx... While the source engine is one of the older engines it does not mean it can not use newer stuff...

Offline

 

#6 14-10-2008 14:39:54

NykO18
Administrator
From: Montréal, QC
Registered: 29-08-2008
Website

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

Definitely related to your hardware.

Offline

 

#7 18-10-2008 15:00:25

NykO18
Administrator
From: Montréal, QC
Registered: 29-08-2008
Website

Re: A bug you overlooked or something...

No news, good news?
Archived.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB